ForWind

University Wind Energy Research

ForWind concentrates wind energy research in the northwest and connects 30 institutes and working groups of the universities of Oldenburg, Hannover and Bremen. Thus, ForWind forms a nationwide unique research network and covers a broad spectrum of scientific topics. Research focuses on engineering sciences, physics and meteorology, computational science and economics.

ForWind was founded in 2003 with the support of the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK). Wind energy research at the universities of Oldenburg and Hanover has since been combined in ForWind. In 2009, the University of Bremen joined as a new partner, enabling ForWind to significantly widen its research spectrum once again. ForWind is still supported by the MWK.

Together with the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy Systems IWES, ForWind forms the Research Alliance Wind Energy.

Cooperation and education

Through application-oriented projects, ForWind transfers results from basic research to industry. In addition to the scientific support of industrially oriented projects, ForWind offers the first nationwide academic Continuing Studies Programme Wind Energy Technology and Management for professionals in the wind energy industry.

ForWind

Universitäre Windenergieforschung

ForWind bündelt die Windenergieforschung im Nordwesten und verbindet 30 Institute und Arbeitsgruppen der Universitäten Oldenburg, Hannover und Bremen. Damit bildet ForWind einen bundesweit einmaligen Forschungsverbund und deckt ein breites Spektrum wissenschaftlicher Themen ab. Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Ingenieurwissenschaften, Physik und Meteorologie, Informatik und Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

ForWind wurde 2003 mit Unterstützung des Niedersächsischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) gegründet. Die Windenergieforschung an den Universitäten Oldenburg und Hannover ist seitdem in ForWind zusammengefasst. 2009 kam die Universität Bremen als neuer Partner hinzu, wodurch ForWind sein Forschungsspektrum noch einmal deutlich erweitern konnte. ForWind wird nach wie vor vom MWK gefördert.

Gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Windenergiesysteme (IWES) bildet ForWind den Forschungsverbund Windenergie (FVWE).

Kooperationen und Weiterbildung

Über anwendungsnahe Projekte trägt ForWind die Erkenntnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung in die Wirtschaft. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Begleitung industriell ausgerichteter Projekte bietet ForWind mit dem Weiterbildenden Studium Windenergietechnik und -management das bundesweit erste akademische Weiterbildungsprogramm speziell für die Windenergiebranche an.