Management Board and Advisory Board

ForWind is managed by a board of directors with equal representation, comprising two members each from Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg, Leibniz University Hannover and the University of Bremen.

The scientific advisory board of ForWind ensures a continuous coordination of the needs of wind energy research with industry and politics.

Board of Directors

The current board consists of Prof. Dr. Joachim Peinke, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Freitag, Prof. Dr. Martin Kühn, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johanna Myrzik (deputy scientific speaker), Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Raimund Rolfes (scientific speaker) and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Torsten Schlurmann.

Scientific advisory board

Chairman of the Advisory Board:

Matthias Schubert
Managing Director
Wyncon, Hamburg


Dr. h.c. Jos Beurskens
SET Analysis, Schagen (NL)

Dr. Rita Dunker
The Senator for Science and Ports, Department of Science, Bremen

Dr.-Ing. Tim Fischer
Global Division Unit Manager, Offshore Wind
Ramboll, Hamburg

Dr.-Ing. Christoph Hessel
Director Technical Operations & Customer Relations

Oliver Hilgert
Department Manager Forming and Application Technology
Salzgitter Mannesmann Research, Duisburg

Dr. Sebastian Huster
Head of Engineering and Knowledge Transfer Unit
Lower Saxony Ministry for Science and Culture, Hanover

Dr. Klaus Meier
Managing Director
wpd windmanager, Bremen

Bernhard Milow
Program Director Energy
German Aerospace Center, Cologne

Lars Weigel
Managing Director
WindGuard Certification, Varel

Dr. Christian Kress
Technology Portfolio & Roadmaps
Siemens Gamesa, Hamburg


Prof. Dr. Volker Epping
Leibniz University Hannover

Prof. Dr. Ralph Bruder
Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Jutta Günther
University of Bremen